Remember Me Help
- What does "Remember Me" mean?
- How does "Remember Me" work?
- Should I use "Remember Me"?
- Can I save more than one User ID?
- How can I sign up?
- Can I request that my User ID no longer be saved?
When geico.com "remembers" you, it saves you a step — you won't have to type your User ID each time you visit. Some websites will also remember your password, but to protect your privacy geico.com will only remember your User ID.
GEICO.com uses a "cookie" to remember your User ID. Cookies are very small files that are placed on your computer by most sites you visit. They can keep track of things you are interested in and what sites you have visited. They help web retailers remember what you may have placed in your shopping cart the last time you were there. Cookies can be erased, either manually or through software. Erasing your GEICO.com cookies, would prevent your User ID from being saved from that point forward.
Cookies from GEICO contain no personally identifiable information. When geico.com "remembers" you, it is really remembering that your computer is associated with a particular User ID.
Remembering User IDs and passwords for a number of different websites can be a challenge. Many people rely on "Remember Me" or 3rd party software to manage their log-in information. For others, it is not a problem — they just remember all the User IDs and passwords they use. You should make the choice that suits you best, confident that your personal information is safe and secure on geico.com.
Unfortunately we can only store one User ID per computer. If "Remember Me" is selected with a new User ID, the previously saved User ID will be replaced.
Simply select the check box when logging in if you want your User ID remembered. Next time you visit GEICO.com, your User ID will appear in the appropriate field.
The check box is always selected if you have requested that your User ID be remembered. To prevent your User ID from being saved in the future, un-click the box when you log in. Next time you visit GEICO.com, your User ID will not be displayed.
Note: You can delete your cookies to prevent your User ID from being remembered in the future. Please see "How does 'Remember Me' work?"